Mercedes Finance Rip-Off

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3012 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I have been leasing a Mercedes for three years and returned it two months ago.

I received a bill for £1,500 - £450 for excess mileage which was agreed, and then a further £1,100 for wear and tear, which was simply ridiculous. I paid around £200 which I deemed fair and called Merc to dispute the remainder.

The chap on the phone listened to my complaint and said he would get back to me. A week later I received a standard letter, which bore no relevance to the call and referred me to 4.2 in my contract which they said stated the car should be returned free from damage (rather than the contract stating 'good condition'.

I wrote a reply (which I have pasted below) and again I received an exact copy of the first letter - incredible!

I wrote again stating that this must have been a mistake as they surely would not be so rude.

I received a call from customer services checking I received their letter and I said 'did you receive my reply as your letter was irrelevant'. He said yes and that he apologised and would send a correct response.

A month has passed with no letter or no call until tonight their debt collectors rang!!!

They offered me a 25% discount but I said no and i am set to call Mercedes.

Hopefully my letter below will help understand my issues. Does anyone have advice / experience as to the claims I am making?

The problem seems to be that Mercedes say they issue guidelines for reasonable damage, but I never received this and am prepared to swear an oath in court on this basis. Anyway, read on...