A possible solution?

indebtstudent
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5957 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I had a very strange idea appear in conversation today when putting my opinion on the subject of bank charges to a colleague. I confess I have no knowledge of the facts and figures invovled in the profitability of current accounts. I would think it is fair to say that current accounts are at best not a great source of revenue for the banks and make a loss where customer run thier accounts in credit.

The lady I was talking to was hard to convince because she was talking morality and I was talking legality BUT she did make a remarkably astute comment at the end (at least I thought so). Banks have recently been trying to alarm people saying free banking will have to go because of those reclaiming thier charges (which we would never have done if they hadn't been overcome by greed).

My colleague said "well I don't see why they don't just stop paying interest on current accounts altogether, that's not what they are for.".

Consider for a moment the purpose of a current account, it is as it sounds its for cash now, so what is the point of paiyng people interest? how much does the industry payout in interest to current account holders? I have absolutely no idea, but I certainly can't see the point in paying a fee (as some people now do) to get some special interest rate since it is not certain you would benefit from it.

Would I really care if I got no interest on my current account? Not really that's what savings accounts are for surely - didn't this used to be the case in the past?