Can I be forced to accept assimilation or can I take redundancy?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 802 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I’ve been working for local authority for over 8 years. A new head has been appointed and started a restructure process that should end this month.

They have said my role will be deleted but assimilated me to another post which means

job title changed,

big drop in salary,

increased hours to work each day

and more staff to manage

plus they have changed my role to TTO (term time only) rather than all year round.

Do I have grounds to fight this?

Edited by dx100uk
spacing

Start by involving your union rep.

then ask for the guidelines for how they decide one job is equivalent to another (for example , 80% the same, or another figure)

get the definition of “assimilation” which I suspect is an internal term: I’ve never used it in a restructure.

then ask for the assessment which has been done of your current role against the new one.

and then come back and tell us what you found out.

I think there may be too big a status and pay change for this to be considered a suitable alternative role,  but let’s see their workings first.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • I agree 1

Never assume anyone on the internet is who they say they are. Only rely on advice from insured professionals you have paid for!

sounds like a college or uni...are you in a teaching role or support staff role...the latter i suspect.

please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

DCA's view debtors as suckers, marks and mugs

NO DCA has ANY legal powers whatsoever on ANY debt no matter what it's Type

and they