Received eviction papers from landlord after 11 years of tenancy

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 510 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello everyone.

Myself and my family have been living in this property since Nov 2011.

In Feb 2020, just before the lockdown, the landlord and I made a gentlemen's agreement for renovating some of the property, which was becoming run down:

the bathroom was mouldy and not fit for purpose, with wall paper hanging down the walls and a wooden sash window next to the bathtub that allowed water to run onto the neighbours front stairs while having a shower, bad tiling and flooring, etc..

I work as an electrician and I am also a multi trader/builder, having worked in the Construction Industry since 1991.

I told the landlord about the state of the bathroom and he agreed that I should start the refurbishment.

I gave him a price and although he haggled me down on it, we agreed in the end. The refurbishment was started and I took detailed photos at every stage of it.

As I started to lift up the old lino, to my amazement, I found plasterboard on the floor and in the hallway, under the carpet.

The floor level was uneven and the previous 'builders' decided it was good idea to use that to make up for the height difference. But that's not the end of the world, I mused to myself, I can redo the flooring.

I carried on, only to discovered that after removing the offending plasterboard, the floorboards and the joists underneath had been water damaged by previous leaks. I took pictures and sent the landlord emails, so that he would be informed of the findings.