(47) Stopped on a restricted bus stop or stand - London Borough of Hounslow

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 1519 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I am in need of some assistance please. 

I am a full time student and funding my studies with flexible work (Private hire vehicle driver with Uber).

On 19/01/2020 at 3 pm I had a job picked up from Hounslow and drop off at Hounslow East Tube Station.

The customer had booked this job as she had difficulty walking and particularly requested if I could drop her as close as possible. 

Unfortunately there isn't a suitable area immediately around Hounslow West Station where i could have dropped her and I literally had stopped on the bus stop as there was no traffic behind me (bus or other traffic). 

The customer got off and I continued driving, it took rather few seconds and I didn't park or put hazard lights and it was really just few second. 

Later, I received a ticket in the post, which I challenged on the basis that I am a private hire driver and that customer had difficulty walking and i literally had stopped no more than few second and pretty much continued moving without blocked or restricting any traffic as there was none behind me.

I am now in receipt of rejection of representation with the following text;

"The PCN was isued because the vehicle was observed stopped on a restricted bus stop.

This contravention is one of stopping and occurs as soon as the vehicle becomes stationary, and regardless if an obstrution is caused to buses.

Stopped is not permitted for any length of time on a restricted bus stop of stand.