!!!HELP!!! HSBC Charges

J&K
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5824 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello to all,

As I'm new to this I was hoping someone could help me???

My partner and I opened a joint account with HSBC around Dec/Jan time and initially were told we couldn't put an overdraft onto the account until they'd seen regular debits and credits on the account.

We accepted this quite happily and thought nothing of it, until one day I was sat working out our income and outgoings for the following weeks and realised that there would be an instance where we were likely to be overdrawn. Rent coming out before wages go in, that sort of thing.

Now by this point we'd had the account fully active for a good couple of months and we're advised in the branch that we should have no problem being accepted for the overdraft we wanted. May I add, we only wanted to ensure there was a couple of hundred, not thousands, available.

I applied a few days later through the online service, only to have it show £25 admin charges on our account a short while later. When i then looked into this I found it was as the overdraft had been denied and they were charging us £25 for the priveledge, even though, they hadn't actually informed us the application had been refused! This amount was then taken directly out of the account.

In the meantime, as predicted, we went slighly overdrawn (when i say slightly, I'm talking about £7) which has since resulted in us being charged a further £25.