Hillards & npower - pre-payment & debt

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5127 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Apologies in advance if this is a long post - but...

I work as a community project manager and in the last 4 years I've only been in paid employment for 18 months, the last was only 6 months part-time. This is because we have to get funding to support the post, and it's not that easy. SO, I've been technically unemployed for most of it. I don't qualify for benefits, all I get is a refund of travel expenses. My wife works and, because of my low income, we get working tax credits.

Almost 2 years ago I found that I couldn't pay my bills, I became ill and lost track of things. Next thing I know I'm getting demands from npower as I hadn't paid them. They wanted to cut me off, and eventually they fitted pre-payment meters in August 2007 for both electric and gas.

They claimed that I owed £1000 on electric and about £400 on gas, which they would claim back at £10 and £5 a week via the meters. I'm reasonably happy that the gas meter is being fair with me and tells me it's taken £5 when I put the card in after paying for credit. At least I know that what it shows as credit is credit for gas, it's not going to vanish any other way.

The meters have been in just over 15 months now and I am sure I'm being ripped off for electricity. When I was on monthly DD I was paying £39 a month for my electricity, and usually got a small rebate from overpaying over the year. I've finally found out what some of the numbers mean on my meter and in 15 months (65 weeks) I have paid over £2,000 on electric alone! It seems reading E is the amount put in.