Mini Credit/Opos Charges

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3398 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

So I have never done this kind of thing before so any advice is much appreciated.

Recently had a letter from Opos regarding they now own the debt that I have with Minicredit. I emailed Opos for a full breakdown of charges and they have came back:

Loan sum 250 £

Interest 377 £

Penalty 80 £

Attempt fee 645 £

Debt expenses 100 £

Total 1452 £

Balance 1167.5 £

Now this loan was taken out in 2011 so a while ago and understand this is when interest rates were a lot different from what they are now and I admit I haven't paid back.. I have paid back a total so far of £284.50 which has been various amounts between November 11-Feb 2012. My credit score apparently at the time was 45 which means not a lot to me but I know it was in a poor way and has not improved since!

Does anyone know if I am able to request Opos to write off some/all of this debt as personally I believe the other fees are ridiculous and not even sure what some of them mean.. i.e debt expenses. How would I go about wording this to them, is there a template or something or does anyone have any previous experience in doing this?

I don't mind paying back the loan sum & Interest as I accept I did have the loan and have already paid back £284.50 but the rest seems pretty steep - I have now included this debt on to my DMP that I have just begun with step change too.

Thanks in advance

Danielle

Penalty 80 £

Attempt fee 645 £

Debt expenses 100 £