JSA - Terrified - only been signed on for 2 weeks.

gilliana
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4911 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

All your advice would be terrific. After 16 years in the same job I've been made redundant and just signed on for JSA. This was my first job since school so I've got little experience of job applications/interviews didnt even have a CV.

I've just had my first official meeting at my local job center, after the original sign-up meeting. I am so terrified not sure I can go back. Thought they were meant to help. They've given me a little booklet and I have to write three activities per week I've done to find a job. So in my first two weeks I've written a CV, saved down loads of job website links, contacted three recruitment agencies and given them my cv, searched the papers etc. But I turn up at the interview and was almost shouted at as I have to have applied for 2 new jobs per week and I didn't. I was told unless I apply for two new jobs per week and provide evidence to the lady then my benefit will be removed at the next meeting. I'm sitting here desparately searching for any job to apply for even though they are not good jobs for me or I dont even meet the qualifications. Seems pointless to apply for jobs that for example say I have to speak Italian - when I don't - but is this what the job center wants?

Your advice would be great. I feel like I'm about to waste time applying for jobs that I won't get.. when I actually could be looking/concentrating on finding a job that I am well suited for, experienced in and hopefully can do for many years.

• Replies 112
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic