Does a Sole Trader Have Consumer Rights (Cooling Off Period)

ukresident
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5636 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello,

Just purchased a laptop from PC World Under the "Smart Plan" option for business which is managed by their partner "RentSmart"

I'm a sole trader and when I signed up, I was pretty sure its the right thing for me. However, three days later, I'm a bit hesitant and would like to get out of the cotract under the "Cooling off Period"

Do I have any chance in doing so? Does a Sole Trader have the same rights as a consumer when it comes to the "Cooling Off Period"?

Thanks!

Under the Consumer Credit Act 2006 sole traders have the same protection as consumers. Did you sign the agreement on their premises?

HAVE YOU BEEN TREATED UNFAIRLY BY CREDITORS OR DCA's?

BEWARE OF CLAIMS MANAGEMENT COMPANIES OFFERING TO WRITE OFF YOUR DEBTS.

Please note opinions given by rory32 are offered informally as a lay-person in good faith based on personal experience. For legal advice, you must always consult a registered and insured lawyer.

Under the Consumer Credit Act 2006 sole traders have the same protection as consumers. Did you sign the agreement on their premises?

Thanks Rory! No I signed it at the PC World Premises, not the premesis of the company I'm dealing with for the rental agreement "RentSmart".

However the agreement did include sole trader in the text. Does that matter?

Also, I sent them an email informing them I wanted to exercise my rights under the "Cooling off period" and cc'd PC world .

I did it this morning (2 working days after the purchase) so will update you on what they say.

Thanks again!