Will you get payments back because of the lack of a credit agreement?

tomterm8
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4905 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Gizmo has asked me to post further about the reasons why I think it is extremely risky to bring a case to recover monies already paid under a credit agreement, and why I don’t think such cases have a reasonable prospect of success.

Before going into further detail on this, I would like to give the normal provisos. I am not a lawyer, although I have gone into this subject in some detail because of the personal benefit to myself if I could find some way to get the courts to award such a verdict. Even trained barristers can be surprised when a judgement of the House of Lords comes in. And, if you don’t think that a case on these principals would go to the House of Lords if you won it, you are very much mistaken.

What are the consequences for the banks?

The first things to consider are the consequences for the banks of such a verdict. Frankly, this would be astronomical. People could reclaim monies back for credit agreements lasting for decades. The statute of limitations would probably not apply, since the verdict would be one of mistake, and the likelihood is that several major banks would be bankrupt, leading the economy into recession.

The banks are well versed in the consequences of these actions, and frankly I would expect any case brought would be defended by the leading barristers in the field. Not one barrister, if I were the banks I would send dozens.