Nationwide frozen student account

ASupertramp
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 1745 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello,

I was wondering if I could get some advice. I opened a student account with Nationwide a couple of months ago and have used it for a couple of daily living expenses. The first student loan payment is due to go into the account in August.

This is my first year at university and prior to this, worked full time. 

I received a tax rebate from HMRC of around £1000, this was sent to me as a cheque. I deposited the cheque into my Nationwide account and it was promptly frozen. I had been trying to access my banking app for a number of days however it simply showed the message 'you have no current accounts with us'. I couldn't use my debit card so contacted Nationwide who initially refused to tell me anything.

After a lengthy discussion with customer services, I was informed that the account had indeed been frozen (as opposed to my initial worry that someone had accessed my account) but I could not be told why, who made that decision or when it would be reviewed.

Further complaint revealed that I could be contacted up until the end of this month (making that around 4 weeks since freezing the account).

I was told, if possible, to visit my local branch.

I went into my local branch the same day and took the letter from HMRC that the cheque came with, the receipt from the bank where the cheque was deposited and my ID. The bank manager contacted whichever department at Nationwide and explained the situation.

He was told that my account would not be unfrozen and I was told to wait until the fraud team contact me.