Ford Engine Damage, Broken Cambelt

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6424 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Fiesta Diesel Durotorq TDCi

Just out of warranty cambelt failed causing very expensive engine damage. Ford state in service manual 150,000 mile service life, mine failed at 44,000 miles. !!! do I have any rights here to make a full cost claim ??

Hi Workhouse,

I'm no mechanic, but I'm not sure that a cambelt can go 150k miles without a change?

However, whether you have a claim or not depends on a couple of things. How long have you had the car? Where did you buy it from? Can you put a bit of background to the cars history?

Thanks!

Lived through bankruptcy to tell the tale! Worked in various industries and studied law at university. All advice is given in good faith only :)

Have you got the service schedule? No way can a cam belt last 150k (unless it's some super dooper new jobbie)

Definately a belt and not a chain?

for FAQs & Step By Step

click here

for Templates Library

click here

for Court Bundle

click here

WON 121o121 'vs' LloydsTSB

here

WON 121o121 'vs' Halifax C C

here

WON 121o121 'vs' Cahoot CC

here

WON 121o121 'vs' LloydsTSB (again)

here

Have you got the service schedule? No way can a cam belt last 150k (unless it's some super dooper new jobbie)

Definately a belt and not a chain?

My DuroTorq 130Bhp TDCi Mondeo is 100,000 for the Cam Belt.

Jeremy

Jeremy

Computer Problems? Give me a shout...

i stand corrected. just looked in the ford owners forum and they do now. wonder what they're made from. gotta be an up-rated stronger material to guarantee that sort of mileage.

for FAQs & Step By Step

click here