Self employed delivery driver not been paid

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3188 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I work as a delivery driver for a major online retailer but I am classed as 'self employed'. I technically work for a contractor who gets the work from this retailer. About 2 months ago we were told that if we worked for 10 days non stop we would receive a bonus from the retailer. I did as I was supposed to, killed myself for the 10 days working for 10-12 hours everyday. I have recently been ill and not worked for the past two weeks so was in desperate need for this incentive to be paid so I could pay my bills as I'm not entitled to sick pay.

However the contractor has basically been fobbing me off for weeks promising me that I will get paid 'next week'. However I discovered yesterday that my co workers were all paid the bonus on Thursday. When I contacted the contractor they said that it's not their fault and the retailer pays the bonus and because I haven't been in work they thought I wasn't coming back so they didn't have to pay me. The contacter knows I am ill and have been in hospital but this does not seem to matter to them. Is there anything I can do to get this bonus or am I in a hopeless situation due to being 'self employed'.

Who told you that you would receive the bonus? the contractor (your employer for want of a better term) or the retailer?

Now tell us about the job a bit more, do you have a contract that says you just work for them or gives you a minimum number of hours to work? Is it your own vehicle or do you drive a company van? Things like this determine whether you are employed or self-employed.