UK debt living abroad after 10 years. Feeling wretched.

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4242 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

First of all this is my first time posting here although I’ve been reading for a while. I do apologise in advance as this is a bit of a confessional. Please believe me before reading,I know I’ve been an idiot,more than any of you could imagine.

Background first,I’m living in Asia now,ex UK resident. I’ve been living here for 10 and a half years now. Before this I was living in a shared house far away from my family home for 10 years. During that time I racked up quite a lot of debt,all of it unsecured. Long time ago now but under 2k on a credit card, under 1k on a store card & about 200 pounds left on an overdraft. I was paying it all off ok before I came out here but I hit problems just before I did. I hate myself for what I did but I ran away from the lot pretty much when I came out here. I wish I hadn't.

None of the companies pursued me at my family address (where I hadn't lived for 10 years,I left there as a student)-all of it took place while I lived away from home in the UK and the last address they would’ve had for me was the shared house I lived in,though I would’ve given them the family address as my last permanent address when I applied etc.