H Samuel - watch purchase

gsharpe
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4966 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello, newbie here!

Having a bit of bother with H Samuel at the moment, I was hoping somebody could give me a bit of support re: how I should proceed.

I was bought a watch recently as a present from an H Samuel store while I was on holiday. Firstly, the woman tried it on me (it was far too loose) and said I would need two watch links removed but I would need to pay for it first. I bought the watch and she removed the links, but it was unbearably tight (both of us struggled to get it off my wrist) leaving me with cut marks on my wrist. So she went back and put one link back in, which seemed better.

I took it home and that night, put it on. Unfortunately after about twenty minutes of wear, it started to irritate and because its quite bulky, made my wrist very sore and very red - so I immediately stopped wearing it. Disappointed, I resigned myself to just wearing my old faithful watch.

The following day, when I was back home, I took it to my local branch of H Samuel to ask for a refund. I was abruptly told by a rude assistant that they weren't willing to refund as the watch had been "customised" by having a link removed. She also told me I "would have been told this at the time".

Now, I wasn't told any of this at the time (in fact the sales associate at the original store was possibly a mime artist in disguise) and I don't know where I stand. She told me to contact the original store, which I did. The rather helpful Assistant Manager then told me that she wasn't aware of any H Samuel policy to refuse refunds after having links taken out.