Can anyone help please

wookie
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6480 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I got home tonight to find a letter from the dept. of work and pensions stating that I owed £2293 and they wanted the money by 23/9. I hadn't a clue what this was for. So after the shock passed and I had picked myself up off the floor, I phoned them.

Apparently between june and november '93 I was overpaid income support and from november '94 to june '95 I was overpaid unemployment benifit. The dates do fit with the 18 months I was out of work but I have had no knowledge of the debt until now.

They say that they have detailed why the money is owed in previous letters but I have received none and the girl on the phone said there was £80 pound court costs even though I have never been to court about this. She could not give me a date of when the case was heard.

Can anyone tell me how I can find out if this money is really owed and not some department cock up. If after 13 years they can still demand it back and any advice on where I should go or who I should see to try and get it sorted out.

Thanks in advance.