Advice needed on debt in Holland, living in NZ

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3304 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there

Am hoping someone can advise on what to do as am completely at my wits end of what to do. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

To cut a long story short I moved back to NZ in 2009 after living in Holland for a number of years. I have citizenship in Holland and NZ. The problem is I have a bank debt with a Dutch bank (EUR17000 which is approx $38000NZD) and am now being called/emailed from a debt collection agency here in NZ. I am not in a position at the current time to repay the debt as I'm a full time student and a single parent on a limited income.

The debt collection agency initially sent a letter to my mother's address and she forwarded it on to me. I called the debt collection office (ICMS) to speak to the person and they weren't available to speak to. Since then I have received a second letter to my own address (I don't know how they got it) and I replied by email stating my current financial situation and offered to repay $150 per month until I have finished studying which will be in 2012.