Aggressive tactics of the Shop Direct group.

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4865 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello all.I'm a newbie to this forum and for my first post, would like to say that I too am suffering the aggressive tactics of the Shop Direct group.

Very brief outline of my tale of woe - A couple of years ago I got into financial trouble and defaulted on a balance of £498 with littlewoods. I buried my head in the sand and tried to avoid the calls and letters. Eventually though, I saw sense and started to pay the debt off after i took out an extended loan with shop direct.This allowed me to pay the debt by monthly payments plus the promise of no further charges or harrassing calls,but it also took the debt up to an extortionate £800. Anyhow,Shop D broke this agreement straight away as the charges just continued even though i was making payments and for the last 6 months or so, they've taken every opportunity to charge me. Now they're harrassing me with telephone calls ( 11 in the last 4 days! ) even though a payment isn't due for 6 days.

To cut a very long complicated story short, my original debt was £498, I've paid £290 of that off, but due to extended plans/charges/interest/whatever they feel like adding, I somehow still owe £668 - £170 more than the original debt!

I didn't intend to default- like most people i'm an honest person who's fallen on hard times.

I guess the golden rule is don't get into debt in the first place, but I do feel Littlewoods/Shop D need to be less aggressive.

Hello and Welcome, bramblebuster.

I've used your first post to start a new thread, please check your Notifications.

Regards.

Scott.