DLC - 75% "discount" old CITI card 'debt'

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5212 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I have just received a letter from DLC offering me a 75% discount on a debt they have purchased from Citi, seems like a good deal save that I don't recall ever having an account with Citi.

I have written and informed them I have no knowledge of a Citi account and they initially threatened me with legal action, presumably in Hanoi County Court, I ignored this toothless threat and they have now followed it with this amazing offer.

I certainly will not be offering 25% of this debt which I don't believe to be mine, but it leads me to wonder how much they would have paid for this account and what checks do they carry out when they purchase a bundle of accounts?

Normally all they get is an amount to pursue. The importamt factor is that if they intend to pursue through the courts they must provide evidence a) that the debt exists and B) that your re liable.

What has possibly happened is that they are simply phishing to see if you are prepared to make payment.

You could simply ignore them or alternatively send them a Subject Access Request / CCA.

IMPORTANT, NEVER TALK TO THESE PEOPLE ON THE PHONE.

they dont carry out checks!! they buy them then try to screw as much as they can out of anyone who seems remotely related by name....i would wait for the 100% off offer

Ours is also an old citi a/c taken over by these chicken farmers so I'll look out for a similar offer in the post soon. Although I'll hold out for 110% off :-)

I suppose if they intend to pursue through the courts they would need a UK address, which I don't have.