Thesis Servicing help!

Taddy3
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5291 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi

I had a couple of phone calls from Thesis Servicing at my work, I never gave permission for this so after seeking advice from these excellent boards and the National Debt Helpline I wrote to them saying I need more info about what they are asking me to pay and not to ring me at work or I will report them and gave them my address stating I would only deal in writing. Is email constituted as ‘in writing’ by the way it would be much easier to deal this way and quicker?

Turns out it’s my student loan, taken out before I graduated in September 1996, I’ve worked out this is an old style loan. It has had interest of over £2000 put on it from missed payments and arrears. Bascially it’s one of those things you forget about (wish I hadn’t as I am now married with 3 kids under 5 and both me and my husband work part time to look after them, money is so tight and I feel like I am letting my kids down and Mums should be responsible and I feel I’ve not been) and I moved house in July 2004 (over 5 years ago) and forgot to inform them, things moved on and I heard nothing until now when the loan was bought by Thesis.

What I want to know is they now sent me an email (I emailed them to ask for more details, National Debt Helpline said hiding only makes things worse) saying how much they say I need to pay back but no further details such as dates of the loan just how much monthly payments would be about £80 as there is no way I can afford that. I guess they would set up a payment plan for less but I am not being tricked in to paying something I needn’t.