Complaint against letting agent

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6124 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I want to file a formal complaint against my letting agent, without having to hire lawyer. Is there a government body that sees into such complaints and take acton if provided sufficient proof of illegal or inappropriate dealing or practice.

Regards,

Hassan Amin

It really depends upon:

a) what the complaint is regarding?

b) whether your letting agent is a member of a professional body such as ARLA or NAEA?

c) what you hope to get out of such a complaint?

7 years in retail customer service

Expertise in letting and rental law for 6 years

By trade - I'm an IT engineer working in the housing sector.

Please note that any posts made by myself are for information only and should not and must not be taken as correct or factual. If in doubt, consult with a solicitor or other person of equal legal standing.

Please click the star if I have helped!!

There are three parts of the complaint:

1). He did not put the deposit in a standard account.

2). He rented me a flat , which was converted from a single house but the conversion was not authorised by the council.

3). He made a commitment to me that all bills are included in my rent, but then I got a notice from council tax. At that time only, I realised that there was no mention of bills in the letting agreement.