£7000 bill from Opus

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2914 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello everyone, it's my first time posting so thank you in advance for any advice that you can give.

About 6 weeks ago we had a phone call out of the blue from an Opus rep 'Tom'

to say that we had a large bill and he needed to speak to us.

We are very rural and we had an actual reading just previous to the bill.

Prior to the phone call the direct debit was set up,

everything paid on time,

never a late or missed payment.

I thought it was a [problem] call at first?

I couldn't believe it when we were told it was for £7000.

We own a building which is a small ex pub/hotel which we've run as a small tea room

which incidently has been closed since end of sept 2015,

and 3 b&b rooms which we've only had let out around 6 times so far since opening.

We live in an apartment at the property.

This is not our main job by the way :-)

After speaking to Tom we were told that they didn't have any actual readings and that they were guessing at the amount.

We were told that the usage for the bill went back to when we were with Scottish Power

and the estimated bills we were paying had been too low.

But the difference from the initial reading in 2013 to the one now showed a £7000 bill.

I asked why were we being asked for money by Opus for a bill that went back to when we were with Scottish Power.

He couldn't quite answer.

We've only been in the property since Sept 2013.

And with Opus since March 2015.

We've since spoken to Scottish power who have said that they are fully paid and we have no outstanding bills.