style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4254 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi all

I am in my 4th year of an IVA.

Today I received a phonecall from my insolvency practitioner saying that they have hired a PPI reclaim company to look into my case. He said that due to the fact I'm so far into my IVA, there is a chance it could end early if the PPI is high enough.

However, there is obviously a chance that it could fall short or there could be none at all. What bothered me is that if there is not enough, the creditors get this "windfall".

So if I understand the situation correctly, the creditors could use the money they fraudulently obtained to pay themselves? But what really irks me, is that if this PPI (which I have never asked for) had figured into my repayments, I may not have felt the need to enter into an IVA in the first place...

So, if I (for example) owe £10000 and I am currently paying £5000 back over the course of the IVA and the PPI "windfall" is £5000, that means that the creditors are still paid in full and I still end up with a shattered credit record and really I needlessly entered into an IVA.

Have I completely missed the point or is this totally immoral? Has this been tested in court?

Hi there. I'm not sure if there is a test case in relation to this but the general feeling is that any assets - or rights to bring action - should usually vest with the IP, and as such they would be obliged to seek the maximum return for the creditors. It's part and parcel for all IPs to try and reclaim PPI as part of the IVA procedure. Moral or not they could fail the IVA if you do not cooperate.