10 year debt!!!!!

mandymoo01
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4926 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi, i'm new to this kind of site but was looking for some help regarding an outstanding debt i have.

around 10 years ago i run up a £500+ bill with Littlewoods catalogue. I was living at my mothers at the time but then moved out, I stopped paying the bills :|. i have since moved back to the address but have not had any correspondance regarding my account, so just forgot about it. recently a debt agency have cointacted me by phone asking for me to repay this debt!!!!!! i originally said i'd look into it after xmas, but they continue to phone saying they can't do this & that the matter needs to resolved now.

I've been told by a friend that because of the length of time the debt has been outstanding, i could be entitled to it being wiped clean???? please help. is this true???? what should i do???:|

Hi Mandy

Welcome to CAG

If you haven't made any payments for 6 years, then the Debt is Statute Barred. They've had the opportunity to chase the debt, but have failed to do so.

Do not speak to them over the phone. Do not acknowledge the debt.

Send this letter Recorded:- http://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/forum/content.php?408-Letter-sent-when-debt-is-statute-barred

Basically they are trying there luck.

A debt is considered Statute Barred if a creditor has not contacted a debtor for a period of 6 years and no action has been taken on the account.